Dates – 29 & 30 March 2017

Venue – Midrand Conference Centre, Midrand Johannesburg, South Africa

Theme – Access to Essential Medicines for Africa – Challenges & Opportunities

DAY 1 – 29th March 2017

09.00 – 09.30 Official Opening
Ms Gertrude Mothibe, Chairperson, Southern African Generic Manufacturers’ Association (SAGMA)
Dr Edith Madela-Mntla, Vice Chairperson, Medicines Control Council
09.30 – 12.30 Clinical Trials in Africa
Panel Convenor – Dr Judy Coates (Innovative Pharmaceutical South Africa (IPASA))
Panel Moderator – Mr Eugene Liebenberg (Pharmaceutical Product Development (PPD) South Africa)
Ms Bisola Ashiru (Novartis) – Plenary
Ms Delese Mimi Darko (Food and Drug Authority (FDA) Ghana)
Prof Vinny Naidoo (University of Pretoria)
Mr Deon Bezuidenhout (Merck)
12.30 – 13.30 Lunch
13.30 – 16.00 Regulatory Harmonization or Convergence
Panel Convenor – Ms Robyn Daniel (MRA Regulatory Consultants)
Panel Moderator – Mr Celestine Kumire (Southern African Regional Programme on Access to Medicines and Diagnostics (SARPAM))
Dr Mercè Caturla (Janssen Pharmaceutica NV) – Plenary
Mr John Patrick Mwesigye (East African Community (EAC))
Ms Lesley Wentworth (Southern Africa Business Forum (SABF))
Mr Abraham Gebregiorgis Kahsay (World Health Organization HQ)

DAY 2 – 30th March 2017

09.00 – 12.00 Education & Training
Panel Convenor – Ms Nontobeko Mncwangi (Tshwane University of Technology)
Panel Moderator – Prof David Katerere (Tshwane University of Technology)
Prof Norman Nyazema (University of Limpopo) – Plenary
Prof Gill Enslin (Tshwane University of Technology)
Dr Lloyd Matowe (Pharmasyt Africa, USA)
Mr David Woo (World Health Organization (WHO) HQ)
12.00 – 12.30 Information Session
Towards Ethical Promotion of Medicines
– Mr Wayne McDuling (Marketing Code Association (MCA))
– Mr Fred Makgato, Head of Legal and Regulatory Affairs, Advertising Standards
Association of South Africa (ASASA)
12.30 – 13.30 Lunch
13.30 – 16.00 Local Pharmaceutical Production
Panel Convenor – Dr Mbali Keele (Moteli Consultants)
Panel Moderator – Dr Skhumbuzo Ngozwana (Kiarahealth)
Mr David Woo & Mr Abraham Gebregiorgis Kahsay (World Health Organization (WHO) HQ) – Plenary
Mr Juergen Reinhardt (United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) HQ) – Plenary
Dr Eugenia Barros (The Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR))
Mr Emmanuel Mujuru (Plus5 Pty Ltd, Zimbabwe)

31st March 2017


Tshwane University of Technology, Faculty of Science Auditorium, Nelson Mandela Drive, Arcadia


10.00 – 12.00

(Free to all but RSVP is required –

What is required to facilitate the development of the pharmaceutical industry in Africa?


David Woo & Abraham Gebregiorgis (World Health Organization HQ)

Standard Ad Space